Latest Ghana News and Entertainment Updates

Champions League Top Goal Scorers 2021-2022: Final Golden Boot Rankings

0 7

The 2021-22 Champions League scoring crown belongs to Karim Benzema. He didn’t score in the final against Liverpool, but he did enough damage in the previous knockout rounds to finish on 15 goals, two better than Bayern Munich’s Robert Lewandowski, but short of Cristiano Ronaldo’s single-season record of 17 (2013-14).

Champions League

Lewandowski and his Bayern Munich team were eliminated from the competition in the quarterfinals, and he watched Benzema catch up and overtake him with a stunning knockout round performance.

Benzema, who also won the scoring race in La Liga with 27 goals, had a magical season in the Champions League, willing Real Madrid into the final with his goals. His three goals against Man City in the semis were critical: He scored a sensational volley and a panenka penalty in the first leg, and then another penalty in extra time of the second leg to see his side advance.

In the previous round, Benzema silenced Chelsea’s home crowd with three goals in the first leg, and then he scored the decisive blow in extra time of the second leg. He accounted for four of Real Madrid’s five goals in the 5-4 aggregate-goal quarterfinal triumph.

In third place in the top scorers’ table was Ajax forward Sebastien Haller who wrapped up his tournament with 11 goals, including scoring in each of his first seven matches. But Haller’s Ajax squad were eliminated in the Round of 16 after he could not score in an eighth straight game. Ajax lost that match at home to Benfica 1-0, dropping out of the tournament 3-2 on aggregate.

In the chart below, the players were ranked by their goal totals, beginning with the group stage. Assists were used as the first tiebreaker, and the second tiebreaker is fewest minutes played. Both are in line with the top scorer tiebreakers that European governing body UEFA implemented for the European Championships.

Champions League Top Scorers (2021-2022)

Related Posts

Final standings as of the end of the tournament on Sat., May 28.

RankPlayerTeamGoals (PKs)AssistsMatchesMins
1.Karim BenzemaReal Madrid15 (3)1121106
2.Robert LewandowskiBayern Munich13 (3)310876
3.Sebastien HallerAjax11 (1)18668
4.Mohamed SalahLiverpool8 (1)2131008
5.Riyad MahrezMan City7 (2)212986
Christopher NkunkuRB Leipzig706531
7.Leroy SaneBayern Munich6610798
Kylian MbappePSG648673
Arnaut DanjumaVillarreal CF6 (1)211906
Cristiano RonaldoMan United607611
Darwin NunezBenfica6 (1)010613
12.RodrygoReal Madrid5211505
Sadio ManeLiverpool5113822
Roberto FirminoLiverpool507323
Lionel MessiPSG5 (2)07630
16.Vinicius JuniorReal Madrid46131199
Thomas MullerBayern Munich4310778
Timo WernerChelsea425246
Pedro GoncalvesSporting CP4 (1)25329
Antoine GriezmannAtletico Madrid429518
Gabriel JesusMan City418352
Luis DiazLiverpool/Porto4113908
  • 3 goals: 20 players
  • 2 goals: 30 players
  • 1 goal: 111 players

Note: There have also been nine own goals among the total of 380 scored in the tournament.

Champions League Top Scorers (since 1992-93)

Here are the top scorers for each UEFA Champions League tournament since the new format was adopted in 1992-93.

No surprise as to who the players are who have topped the list on most occasions: Cristiano Ronaldo has led the charts seven times, and Messi six. Their dominant run has happened in the past 14 editions of the Champions League, though neither has claimed the honor in the past two campaigns.

2020-21Erling HaalandB. Dortmund10
2019-20Robert LewandowskiBayern Munich15
2018-19Lionel MessiBarcelona12
2017-18Cristiano RonaldoReal Madrid15
2016-17Cristiano RonaldoReal Madrid12
2015-16Cristiano RonaldoReal Madrid16
2014-15Lionel MessiBarcelona10
Cristiano RonaldoReal Madrid10
2013-14Cristiano RonaldoReal Madrid17
2012-13Cristiano RonaldoReal Madrid12
2011-12Lionel MessiBarcelona14
2010-11Lionel MessiBarcelona12
2009-10Lionel MessiBarcelona8
2008-09Lionel MessiBarcelona9
2007-08Cristiano RonaldoMan United8
2006-07KakaAC Milan10
2005-06Andriy ShevchenkoAC Milan9
2004-05Ruud van NistelrooyMan United8
2003-04Fernando MorientesAS Monaco9
2002-03Ruud van NistelrooyMan United12
2001-02Ruud van NistelrooyMan United10
2000-01Raul GonzalezReal Madrid7
1999-00Mario JardelPorto10
Raul GonzalezReal Madrid10
1998-99Andriy ShevchenkoDynamo Kyiv8
Dwight YorkeMan United8
1997-98Alessandro Del PieroJuventus10
1996-97Milinko PanticAtletico Madrid5
1995-96Jari LitmanenAjax9
1994-95George WeahPSG7
1993-94Hristo StoichkovBarcelona5
1992-93Franck SauzeeMarseille5

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More